As someone who is not a big fan of traditional stuffed peppers, I have to say I was skeptical about this recipe. Even as I read the ingredient list and told myself it sounded awesome, even as I blended the sauce that made my kitchen smell amazing even before it hit the oven, even as the minutes started to count down on my oven’s timer, I wasn’t really super convinced I was going to love this.
Oh, was I wrong.
Unlike green bell peppers, which (in my opinion) tend to get a funky taste when cooked too long, these poblanos retained not only a great texture but an awesome amount of spice. Not enough to make you run for a glass of milk, but enough to let you know they weren’t messing around. The filling is awesome – and the sauce, well, let’s just say I when I went back for seconds, I made sure I got enough sauce to completely saturate my plate of rice. I am not ashamed.

I fully realize my photo isn’t the greatest in the world, but when you  have dinner this good waiting for you, you don’t mess around with camera settings. No regrets here.

Ingredients:

  • 1 28 oz can whole tomatoes
  • 1 jalapeno chile ,minced
  • 2 small onions, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves (2 whole, 1 minced)
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1 cup shredded pepper Jack cheese, divided
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin, divided
  • 4 large poblano chiles, halved lengthwise, ribs and seeds removed
  • salt and pepper

Instructions:

  • Half the poblanos lengthwise and remove seeds and ribs
  • In a blender or food processor, combine can of tomatoes, jalapeno, 2 cloves of garlic, one roughly chopped onion, 1 teaspoon cumin and salt and pepper to taste. Puree until smooth.
  • Place sauce in 9 x 13 baking dish
  • In a separate bowl, combine chopped onion, black beans, corn meal, 1 clove of minced garlic and 1/2 cup of pepper jack cheese. Season with 1 teaspoon cumin. Stir to combine.
  • Spoon black bean mixture into poblanos and place peppers in the baking dish
  • Cover peppers with remaining cheese
  • Cover baking dish with aluminum foil and bake for 45 minutes at 400 degrees. Remove the foil during the last 10 minutes of baking.

Notes:

  • This makes enough stuffing for probably 6 chiles, depending on size.
  • I highly recommend serving with rice mixed with cilantro and lime juice, yum!
  • Recipe via Martha Stewart

About Ginny

Nerd. Dog Snuggler. Intrepid Social Worker. Lover of Delicious Things.

One response »

  1. […] (33) Black Bean Stuffed Poblanos (ginnyskitchenadventures.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment