As someone who is not a big fan of traditional stuffed peppers, I have to say I was skeptical about this recipe. Even as I read the ingredient list and told myself it sounded awesome, even as I blended the sauce that made my kitchen smell amazing even before it hit the oven, even as the minutes started to count down on my oven’s timer, I wasn’t really super convinced I was going to love this.
Oh, was I wrong.
Unlike green bell peppers, which (in my opinion) tend to get a funky taste when cooked too long, these poblanos retained not only a great texture but an awesome amount of spice. Not enough to make you run for a glass of milk, but enough to let you know they weren’t messing around. The filling is awesome – and the sauce, well, let’s just say I when I went back for seconds, I made sure I got enough sauce to completely saturate my plate of rice. I am not ashamed.

I fully realize my photo isn’t the greatest in the world, but when you  have dinner this good waiting for you, you don’t mess around with camera settings. No regrets here.


  • 1 28 oz can whole tomatoes
  • 1 jalapeno chile ,minced
  • 2 small onions, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves (2 whole, 1 minced)
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1 cup shredded pepper Jack cheese, divided
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin, divided
  • 4 large poblano chiles, halved lengthwise, ribs and seeds removed
  • salt and pepper


  • Half the poblanos lengthwise and remove seeds and ribs
  • In a blender or food processor, combine can of tomatoes, jalapeno, 2 cloves of garlic, one roughly chopped onion, 1 teaspoon cumin and salt and pepper to taste. Puree until smooth.
  • Place sauce in 9 x 13 baking dish
  • In a separate bowl, combine chopped onion, black beans, corn meal, 1 clove of minced garlic and 1/2 cup of pepper jack cheese. Season with 1 teaspoon cumin. Stir to combine.
  • Spoon black bean mixture into poblanos and place peppers in the baking dish
  • Cover peppers with remaining cheese
  • Cover baking dish with aluminum foil and bake for 45 minutes at 400 degrees. Remove the foil during the last 10 minutes of baking.


  • This makes enough stuffing for probably 6 chiles, depending on size.
  • I highly recommend serving with rice mixed with cilantro and lime juice, yum!
  • Recipe via Martha Stewart

About Ginny

Nerd. Dog Snuggler. Intrepid Social Worker. Lover of Delicious Things.

One response »

  1. […] (33) Black Bean Stuffed Poblanos ( […]

Leave a Reply

