Ok, so I’m a little behind on posting last week’s recipe. You’ll have to forgive me, I was on an awesome vacation where I did things like completely lose my mind in the front row for Jack White and  eat chicken and waffles in a giant field. So blogging was one of the last things on my mind. Behind work, responsibilities, and anything that isn’t related to Jack White.

I’m lucky that I have a super awesome neighbor who also enjoys cooking adventures, or I’d probably never have gotten to a new recipe last week. It was one of those crazed weeks where I had way too much going on, and getting standard dinners on the table was enough without messing with new recipes. I had grand designs to make some elaborate desserts and homemade camp snacks for our trip, but I ended up at the grocery store at 11 p.m. the night before we left cramming grocery store salsa and goldfish crackers into my cart.  We can’t all be superstars all the time.

But back to my neighbor, Emily. This girl is a super star and proved that yet again by inviting me over to make crepes and blowing my mind by showing me how easy it is. (Although her swirling-the-batter-in-the-pan technique is way better than mine). Since last week we’ve been sending each other ideas on other crepe fillings we could try out. I won’t lie to you, they’ve all been desserts.

The night we made these, we had two different fillings . We made savory dinner crepes with some roasted asparagus, brie, and ham (ham-less for the part-time Veg in the house). For dessert, we stuffed those suckers full of nutella, whipped cream, strawberries and bananas. I’m not sure why we are even talking about other fillings because that was so remarkably delicious I don’t really see how anything else could be better. At least I didn’t think so, until I saw someone put ice cream and hot fudge on a crepe.

Ingredients:

  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 cup flour
  • 3 tablespoons melted butter
  • And butter, lots more butter (for the pan)

Instructions:

  1. Combine all the ingredients in a blender and pulse until well combined. You want a very smooth batter. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour.
  2. Coat a small pan with butter. Ladle crepe batter into the pan and swirl to coat evenly. (You want a nice thin layer, it may take a few tries to get a feel for how much batter to use)
  3. Cook crepe for about one minute, or until edges begin to slightly brown, then flip and cook the other side.
  4. Remove and let cool on a flat surface. Continue this process until all batter is gone.
  5. Crepes can be stacked on top of each other

Notes:

  • Thanks to Emily, I know that you should stop before all of you batter is gone, add some sugar, and then continue.  Stuff these sweet crepes full of delicious dessert-type things
  • Recipe via Alton Brown

Crepe Ideas:

About Ginny

Nerd. Dog Snuggler. Intrepid Social Worker. Lover of Delicious Things.

Leave a Reply

