lentils

When I decided to give vegetarianism (part-time vegetarianism? less meatatrianism?) a whirl, I asked my many vegan and vegetarian pals what they’d recommend cooking.  Again and again, people extolled the virtues of lentils.  I’ve eaten lentils before, but I can’t say it’s been all that extensive, and I have never cooked with them, ever.  So I put it off, (all through the winter months when it would have be great to have a hearty lentil stew) in favor of the more familiar.

As usual, my friends are smarter than me. Lentils are great! This recipe is great! I want to scoop it up on a million pieces of garlic naan and eat it all day long. Lentils don’t exactly photograph well, but who cares? I’ve already got another lentil dish on my menu for next week.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dried lentils
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1/2 – 1 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon curry powder
  • 2 russet potatoes, cut into large chunk
  • Salt and pepper

Directions:

  1.  Combine lentils, coconut milk, curry powder, and half a cup of water in a large saucepan.
  2. Bring mixture a boil. Reduce heat and partially cover. Allow to simmer for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally
  3. Add potatoes, cover, and simmer for about 10 more minutes. If lentils begin to dry out, add more water and stir.
  4. Uncover and simmer for 5-10 minutes, until much of the liquid is absorbed and lentils and potatoes are tender
  5. Season generously with salt and pepper
  6. Garnish with cilantro, serve with naan

Recipe via How to Cook Everything Vegetarian

About Ginny

Nerd. Dog Snuggler. Intrepid Social Worker. Lover of Delicious Things.

Leave a Reply

