We fully stocked our fridge and pantry  with tons of fruits and veggies, and I’m looking forward to a bunch of really healthy and fresh meals this week. This is much needed after a weekend filled with not-so-great food choices. I’m fine with a little junk food in general – I am very much a believer in all-things-in-moderation, but I think could use a little reminder in the spirit of the great poet laureate Cookie Monster:  Beer and Gelato are Sometimes Foods.

That being said it’s not like this dinner was exactly a paragon of virtue (heavy cream, hello), but it was absolutely delicious and made from scratch, so I call that a win. I also mixed up a little lemon thyme vinaigrette to go with our side salads – another stellar choice if I do say so myself.

This dish is a little time consuming, but, in my opinion, worth it. The best thing I can think to compare it to is a savory, veggie-filled cheesecake with a super crispy crust. If that hasn’t sold you, I’m not sure why you even read this blog.  There’s a variation on the recipe that substitutes mushrooms for the zucchini and goat cheese for the ricotta – I’m sure I’ll be trying that version as well.

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 potatoes, shredded
  • 1 tablespoon butter or oil
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil, chopped
  • 2 1/2 cups zucchini, sliced (about 1 1/2 medium zucchinis)
  • 1 1/2 cups ricotta cheese
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1 egg

Directions:

  1. Shred potatoes and press into a well greased pie plate or tart pan. Bake crust for 20-30 minutes at 400 degrees
  2. When crust is almost finished, slice zucchini and chop basil. Cook in a pan with melted butter or oil for about five minutes.
  3. Beat egg, ricotta cheese, and heavy cream together in a large bowl. Stir in cooked zucchini and basil.
  4. Pour filling into slightly cooled potato crust. Bake at 375 for 20-30 minutes.
  5. Remove tart from the oven when the middle is still jiggly. Allow to cool and firm up for several minutes before slicing.

Recipe via How to Cook Everything Vegetarian

About Ginny

Nerd. Dog Snuggler. Intrepid Social Worker. Lover of Delicious Things.

One response »

  1. Esther says:

    This looks delicious Ginny! I’ll be trying it 🙂

Leave a Reply

