Goat Cheese Pasta

 

When people like to talk about small, every day splurges, my mind immediately goes to food. Forget fancy-pants hand lotions or expensive socks, I want a craft beer, a good piece of chocolate or cheese. Oh yes, cheese.

Thanks to what seems to be an ever expanding cheese section in our local grocery store, and thanks to cheese mongers (LIFE GOAL ACCOMPLISHED: USING THE WORLD CHEESE MONGER IN A LEGITIMATE SENTENCE!) who generously cut small pieces because they realize that not everyone can buy a $40 block of cheese, I have been slowly familiarizing myself with various cheeses, and this week I grabbed some port salut and goat cheese.

I bought a 4 oz portion of goat cheese on Sunday evening. I had one ounce of it with crusty bread while reading on Sunday night. I threw two ounces into this pasta on Monday evening. Now it’s Tuesday, and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t considering going downstairs and finishing the rest. Even though I just ate dinner.

In this dish, the lemon compliments the tanginess of the goat cheese extremely well. We served it along side some roasted green beans topped with Parmesan cheese. It definitely felt luxurious for a Monday meal, which was kind of the point.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb pasta
  • 1 lemon
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 0z soft goat cheese
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper

Directions:

  • Cook the pasta according to package directions until al dente
  • Meanwhile, add the zest of the lemon and about half of the juice to a large bowl
  • Add Parmesan cheese and goat cheese to the bowl
  • Ladle in some of the hot pasta water and a drizzle of olive oil and whisk until combined
  • Toss pasta in the sauce, add salt and pepper to taste
  • Makes four servings.

Notes:

  • I also like that this recipe seems infinitely re-mixable. Toss in some different herbs, a different variety of goat cheese, and a pile of veggies, and you’ve got a completely different dish.¬† I know I will be experimenting with this again. Probably soon.
  • Bonus Recipe: Roasted Green Beans. Take about a pound of green beans and rinse & cut off the ends. Toss in some olive oil, salt, and pepper. Roast for 15-20 minutes at 425 on a foil lined pan. If you are feeling fancy, grate some fresh Parmesan on top in the last 5 minutes of roasting.
  • Recipe via In Erika’s Kitchen
About Ginny

Nerd. Dog Snuggler. Intrepid Social Worker. Lover of Delicious Things.

One response »

  1. […] with my favs who make even hard times good times (we made this pasta! & then we had […]

Leave a Reply

