Have you ever looked at a list of ingredients and thought, “Yeah, I’m having that. Now.”  That’s what happened with me and this awesome quinoa dish.  Anything with curry powder is automatically considered for my “to make” list, and this was a no-brainer because I had everything on hand and it took minutes to throw together. This blog was supposed to be about me improving my cooking skills, but I keep making things that are so incredibly easy, that I’m really only improving my eating skills. Not that I’m complaining.

This is yet another (vegan, gluten free) recipe that comes together literally in minutes. Chop your ingredients while the quinoa simmers, and you’ve got yourself lunch for the week. I’m also thinking of making some naan, re-making this recipe with a creamier curry sauce, and having it for dinner sometime soon.

The not-so-secret ingredient.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups uncooked quinoa
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 tablespoon curry powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup peas, (thawed, if using frozen)
  • 1 cup cauliflower, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup cashews, roughly chopped
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons tahini
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Directions:

  1.   Add olive oil, curry powder, and salt to the cooking water and cook quinoa according to package directions. (usually, 2 parts water to 1 part quinoa, simmer for about 15 minutes or until water is absorbed)
  2. Thaw peas, chop your cauliflower and cashews
  3. Allow quinoa to sit for about 5 minutes after it’s done cooking. Fluff with a fork and stir in tahini, cauliflower, peas, and cashews while the quinoa is still warm. It will heat up the veggies and cook them slightly (still leaving them with crunch).
  4. Dig in.

Notes:

  1. I’m interested to see how this dish would with with an actual curry sauce, so I’m going to give that a try next time.
  2. two words: mango chutney. Ok, three words: mango chutney and cilantro

Recipe adapted from Lunch Box Blog

About Ginny

Nerd. Dog Snuggler. Intrepid Social Worker. Lover of Delicious Things.

Leave a Reply

