Inspired by the fact that our busy schedules would have Jonathan and I busy doing different things all week (until we see Hunger Games at midnight on Thursday! Hooray!), I was on the search for something to make that would hold up a few days in the fridge and stay appealing. We typically like to cook and eat together, but when things get busy, we declare the kitchen an “every man for himself” zone.  I sort of hate cooking for one, so I’d rather make a big batch of something that fares well as leftovers and I won’t get tired of eating all week. This definitely fits the bill. Taking literally minutes to throw together (chop your veggies while the noodles boil, then  you’re done!), it has the added benefit of being totally delicious.  Easy, quick, delicious and vegan. What else do you want from me?

Ingredients

  • 8 ounces soba noodles
  • 2-3 cups finely shredded cabbage
  • 1 cup grated carrot
  • 3 scallions, minced
  • 2 Tbsp. chopped fresh cilantro or parsley
  • 2 tsp. grated fresh ginger
  • 3 Tbsp. rice vinegar or mirin
  • 1 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 1 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 3 Tbsp. toasted sesame oil
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • chopped peanuts

Directions:

  • Cook the noodles in boiling water, drain, and rinse in cold water to cool
  • In a small bowl, combine the mirin, soy sauce, vegetable oil, sesame oil, sugar, & salt to taste. Stir until well blended.
  • In a large bowl, combine noodles with shredded veggies. Pour sauce over and mix to coat. Season with salt, if desired.
  • Garnish with chopped peanuts and serve at room temperature.

My Notes:

  • If you’re planning on serving this as a main dish (I did), it makes about 4 large servings.
  • I used powdered ginger because it’s all I had on hand, but I’m sure fresh would be better. If you’re using powdered, just mix it into the sauce.
  • Add sriracha, you know you want to.
  • I grated everything in my food processor.  Once everything is grated, I suggest squeezing excess water out of your cabbage and carrots, or any leftover slaw is going to get mushy.
  • The peanuts definitely add something, so I suggest chopping up a bit more and making sure you have a healthy amount of peanuts for each serving.

Recipe via Vegenista

About Ginny

Nerd. Dog Snuggler. Intrepid Social Worker. Lover of Delicious Things.

Leave a Reply

