For this week’s new recipe, I went with something that combines my two favorites: brunch and Mexican food. Considering that these are my two favorite food categories (besides, dessert, obviously), I think it is extremely surprising that I have never made OR eaten hueveos rancheroes before.  It was also surprising considering the staggering ease of making them.

I barely have a recipe to share, because there doesn’t seem to be a consensus on anything, which actually makes it pretty great. This is the opposite of something fussy like mole, there are three basic things you need: an egg, a tortilla, and some tasty stuff to put on top. The combinations after that are up to you. I’m am sure that what I did would not be considered authentic, but I do consider it delicious, and that has to count for something.

Ingredients (for each serving):

  • 1 egg
  • 1 6inch tortilla
  • whatever toppings you please (salsa, beans, sour cream, cheese, chiles, taco sauce,avocado slices, cilantro, etc, etc)

Directions:

  • In a small skillet, brown the tortilla on both sides until it starts to turn golden and slightly crispy
  • Crack the egg over the warm tortilla.
  • Wait until the egg is slightly firm and the parts that have run over the tortilla turn white
  • Flip the entire egg and tortilla, cook for another minute
  • Transfer to a plate and add your toppings.

We served ours with refried black beans I made (black beans, jalapeno, diced onion, cumin, olive oil), fresh salsa, red onion, diced jalapeno, cotija cheese and hot sauce; We both agreed cilantro would be a welcome addition.

My instructions come via the always wonderful Smitten Kitchen.

About Ginny

Nerd. Dog Snuggler. Intrepid Social Worker. Lover of Delicious Things.

Leave a Reply

