Well, it’s already happened. I bit off more than I could chew and now this blog has moved from 52 Foods to …um…. 52 Foods And Also Some Additional Foods Sometimes Too. Not so catchy, eh? But the point of this blog is to have fun and practice my skills, and with that in mind, I’m not going to try to stick to rules that aren’t working for me, like only posting one recipe a week. The truth is, I’ve been cooking and baking like crazy lately: probably 3 or 4 new recipes a week. I know that will slow down when I get busy, and it’s not always convenient to take photos every time I’m trying to cook – but I think I’ll be posting more. In fact, I know I will, because I’ve joined Tuesdays with Dorie.

Tuesdays with Dorie is a great group of food bloggers and fans of baker and cook-book writer, Dorie Greenspan. The concept is simple: participants chose a cookbook, chose recipes each  month, and bake the recipes together, posting them on Tuesdays.(You can hear more by checking out this NPR interview with Dorie Greenspan) I followed along with many of the bakers last year, and I was pretty excited to hear they were launching a new project for 2012, following the book Baking with Julia, which I happened to receive for Christmas. I was waffling back and forth about joining, but my friend Carla cajoled me into signing up, and I’m happy I did. I asked for this book because I wanted to learn more baking — so why not, you know, BAKE?
That being said, the first recipe was pretty much as simple as it gets: white bread loaves.

I had a little bit of a tricky time with this — first of all, my mixer went rouge on me, so I had to do some kneading by hand. No big deal, good stress release and all, but it wasn’t super easy to mix the butter into the dough when  your mixer is about to hop off of the counter and topple your bottles of vinegar and olive oil.

It didn’t rise quite as much as I’d hoped, but I think that has to do with the whole rising-in-a-warm place deal. Carla pointed out that I could have let it rise in my oven, turned to the lowest setting with the door cracked. I was out running errands while my bread was rising, so I didn’t leave my oven on, but I’m going to give that a whirl next time.

Because despite those few stumbling blocks, this bread was delicious! The recipe makes two loaves, so I gobbled one up and froze the second. We had it fresh from oven (awesome!), toasted in the oven with garlic & butter, and as peanut butter toast along with hot cocoa for a fantastic wintry breakfast.

I’m definitely looking forward to making more bread — believe it or not, this is the first time I ever did it from scratch!

For the recipe, please visit Laurie’s blog.

About Ginny

Nerd. Dog Snuggler. Intrepid Social Worker. Lover of Delicious Things.

7 responses »

  1. Robyn says:

    Ginny! It’s so cool you’re doing a food blog. I’m actually in the process of starting one too. Still learning wordpress and debating about names and whatnot but I’m excited – and excited to read yours. The bread looks delicious. Hope all is well! – Robyn

    • Ginny says:

      Awesome! I wanted to do something to keep myself busy as a new year’s project, and I’m having fun so far. I will definitely follow along once your is up and running too 😀

  2. Pj says:

    Your bread photos are awesome! I bet that bread smelled delicious !

  3. Jenn Ragland says:

    Nice job on the bread! It was my first time making a yeast bread as well and though a little intimidating – Dorie never leaves us hanging.

  4. Cher says:

    Lovely pictures – it’s great to see everyone’s creations!

  5. Stephanie B says:

    I stumbled on a handy trick for helping the bread rise… I used a heating pad. I put a cooling rack on the counter with the heating pad on top (that way the counter doesn’t get too warm) and set the covered bread on top with the pad on low. Still might not want to go to work for the day with it left on, but it’s a bit less hassle than having the oven on 🙂 Worked a treat for me!

Leave a Reply

