Fall is upon us, and for a lot of people that means the arrival for two things: pumpkin treats and football. For me, it means it’s time to start timing my grocery store trips witch whatever time the game is on to avoid long lines.
The thing about pumpkin and football is this: I wish I liked them! People who like them are so into it! They are in a secret football and/or pumpkin loving cult and it seems to bring them so much joy. I mean, do you h ave any idea how many times I heard or read the phrase “pumpkin spice latte” last week?

I have been going through a phase of trying things I didn’t think I liked. Things, like pumpkin, that I may have had an aversion to over the years for no particular reason. I don’t think it makes sense to cut myself off from things just because I tried it once years ago. I have discovered all kind of things I “didn’t like” are actually pretty great (sweet potatoes, anyone?). And guess what? Now I can add another thing to my list. Pumpkin isn’t so bad after all. At least not when it is coated in chocolate.

If you are a donut fan, this is really one not to miss. The texture is better than any other baked donut I’ve tried (and I’ve tried quite a few), it’s not sickeningly sweet, and the blend of spices is really nice and subtle – not the overwhelming blast of cinnamon¬† you get in a lot of fall treats.
“But I don’t have a donut pan!” you say. Dude, get one. They cost like $7 and people lose their minds when you bring them a bunch of fresh, homemade donuts.

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2-3 oz chopped dark chocolate, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon shortening
  • Sprinkles (duh)

Instructions:

  1. Mix together flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg and set aside
  2. In a large mixing bowl, beat together vegetable oil, brown sugar, egg, vanilla, canned pumpkin and milk
  3. Slowly add the try ingredients to the wet- stir until just combined, do not over mix
  4. Spoon or pipe batter into a greased donut pan
  5. Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes, allow to cool on a rack before glazing
  6. Assemble the glaze: chop chocolate and place in a microwave safe bowl with shortening. Microwave and stir in 20 second spurts until chocolate is melted
  7. Now the fun part: dunk the cooled donuts into the glaze. Top with sprinkles before glaze sets.
  8. Makes 12 donuts

Recipe via Sweetened with Honey

About Ginny

Nerd. Dog Snuggler. Intrepid Social Worker. Lover of Delicious Things.

3 responses »

  1. I love pumpkin, glad you’re coming around! :) I prefer it combined with either chocolate or cream cheese in desserts. Any particular donut pan you like? They all seem the same to me.

  2. mydearbakes says:

    Wow, absolutely stunning! Thanks for sharing =)

Leave a Reply

